Guided walk around the Place des Vosges
Published on 14 June 2012, dans Near the Hotel
Discovering the Marais quarter and its history
This 1½ hour walk takes participants of all ages through the streets of the Marais to discover its past, its architectural masterpieces as well as its lesser known treasures.
This informative walk, particularly suited to families, explains how, from when it was first built in 1605, the Place des Vosges – at that time called Place Royale – saw the Marais district develop around it.
Inaugurated in 1612 to mark the engagement of Louis XIII and Anne of Austria, it is lined with red brick houses with slate roofs which are today home to famous figures from the world of politics and art.
Musée Carnavalet :
- 23 Rue de Sévigné – Paris 3ème
- Guided tour to mark the 400th anniversary of the Place des Vosges: further information
Hotel Marais Bastille, a 3 star Design hotel in the heart of Paris.